Taco Night

I’m currently staying in a condo while I’m at training at Fort Huachuca, AZ and this is my first time cooking entirely by myself so it has been a learning process. So tonight I decided to stick with something simple and make tacos.

I began by making homemade tortillas from the recipe found here: http://www.smells-like-home.com/2012/07/diy-soft-flour-tortillas/

tortillas

I halved the recipe (since I’m only cooking for one) and they turned out incredible, even though I didn’t have a food processor.

While those sat I heated olive oil in a small pan over medium heat and added chopped garlic and onions (just eyeball it). Then once they had become deliciously soft and fragrant I added my Morning Star Grillers Crumbles and let those heat up.

At that time I took one avocado, peeled and crushed and added two cloves of crushed garlic and lemon juice to taste.

Then once the onion/garlic/crumbles mixture was fully heated through I added some salsa for flavor.

Lastly I took the still warm tortillas, piled them with the crumble mixture and topped it off with a big scoop of guacamole and sour cream and some shredded cheddar cheese.

The final product was a perfect meal for taco night-made more special by homemade tortillas and guacamole! Yum.

Image

Leave a Reply

