Banana Bread with Brown sugar topping

Ever since I was younger I’ve never really liked bananas, but I love them in bread or pancakes. So this past week I bought bananas and purposefully let them become overripe so I could make  banana bread. But I didn’t want a basic banana bread- I wanted one that was sweeter and with a little surprise on the inside. So I decided to try Lovin’ From the Oven’s Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread, but mix it up a little by adding some brown sugar on the top for a little crunch.

For recipe go to: http://lovintheoven.com/2010/03/cinnamon-swirl-banana-bread.html

So I began by assembling the ingredients and melting 1/3c of butter and mashing 3 bananas.

IMG_3972 IMG_3973

Then I added one egg and a tsp of vanilla and stirred to incorporate.

IMG_3974

From there add 3/4c of granulated sugar, 1 and 1/2cup flour and 3tsp of baking powder. (The original recipe calls for 1tsp of baking soda but I only have baking powder so I just substituted. Stir until just combined.

IMG_3975 IMG_3976

Pour half of the  mixture into a loaf pan. The original recipe calls for a 9×5 pan but mine was bigger so I just made do. (But note the cook time will change depending on the size you use). This is where I mainly deviated from the recipe: instead of having a big cinnamon/sugar center I decided to put that on the top so I just sprinkled some cinnamon and sugar over the top and didn’t measure out the full amount the recipe called for.

IMG_3977 IMG_3978

Then I added the rest of the banana mixture to the top and covered it with a sprinkling of brown sugar and a little bit of white for a crunchy top. You can add as much or as little as you want depending on how thick, sweet, and crunchy you want to make it.

IMG_3979

Then I baked it at 350 degrees for 40 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean) before removing it and putting it on a plate to cool and set. To serve I cut thick slices topped with butter and put in the oven at 350 for a few minutes to melt the butter, warm the bread, and make it a little toasted. Then take out and serve immediately.

IMG_3990

Delicious!

IMG_4007

Recipe

3 overripe bananas mushed
1/3c butter melted
1 egg
1tsp vanilla
3tsp baking powder (or 1 tsp baking soda)
3/4c granulated sugar
1 1/2c flour
cinnamon
brown sugar

Leave a Reply

