Martha Stewart Pancakes

On Saturday I woke up craving pancakes so I decided to try my second round making them from scratch. For this experiment I tried Martha Stewart’s Basic Pancakes.

For original recipe go to http://www.marthastewart.com/338185/basic-pancakes

Because the recipe was for 12-15 pancakes I decided to quarter the recipe.

IMG_3427

First I whisked together 1/4 cup of flour, a few dashes of salt, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1 tbsp granulated sugar. For lighter and fluffier pancakes make sure you sift the ingredients together.

IMG_3429

Then I added one egg (the whole recipe calls for 1 but I’m not about to spend time trying to quarter an egg), 1 tsp of vanilla (I added-not in original recipe), and then 1/4 cup of milk. You could also use half-and-half or buttermilk. Then stir together until just incorporated.

IMG_3428

IMG_3430

Then very lightly oil or butter a pan over medium heat and add the pancake mix. Flip once bubbles begin to form. Remove from heat and immediately top with butter. Then add your favorite toppings and dig in~

IMG_3431

IMG_3432

IMG_3433

Review: I like this recipe because it is versatile. You could easily add chocolate chips, banana or another fruit, or add some different spices for different flavors like some ground nutmeg or cinnamon. Or you can do like I did and just top it with butter and syrup and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

