City Wife Country Life’s Homemade Tortillas

So with my appetite coming back I decided it was time to try round two of making homemade tortillas. This time I tried City Wife Country Life’s recipe: http://www.citywifecountrylife.com/2010/11/5-tips-for-perfect-homemade-flour.html

I began by measuring out 3 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1 1/2 tsp salt into a large bowl. Then I added 1/2 cup (1 stick) of chopped butter in place of lard. Then I slowly added 1 cup of boiling water, mixing with my hands (be careful when doing this, so as not to burn yourself)

IMG_4099

Still using my hands I continued to knead the dough for another 5 minutes forming it into a ball. Then I let the dough sit, covered, for 15 minutes. After that I cut the dough into 8 pieces and flattened each into a circle using my hands. After I had rolled out the first one until almost see through, I realized it wouldn’t fit in my skillet so I went back and cut the other 7 sections in half to make smaller tortillas. It definitely makes a difference when you roll them out very thin, to the point you can see through them for light and tender tortillas,

IMG_4100 IMG_4101

 

Then place the tortillas in a skillet over medium and flip when it begins to have air bubbles. (don’t worry if this doesn’t always happen, some of mine didn’t and others had huge bubbles but they all turned out good anyways) But when you see them rising beat it down.

IMG_4102

Flip and remove from the heat. This will make a large plate of tortillas which can be stored in the fridge for up to a week, or in the freezer for longer (just let them thaw before you begin cooking)

IMG_4103

Because I am lazy my tortillas certainly weren’t perfect circles, but they were still delicious!

Review: very yummy, a softer and more tender recipe than the last I tried, but it also helps that it was my second time making them.

 

Leave a Reply

