Quick Homemade Tomato Sauce

Another recipe I wanted to try called for tomato sauce, and with a mother who always made tomato sauce from scratch I knew I couldn’t just go to the store and buy a jar of it. So while I didn’t have all the ingredients to make my mom’s tomato sauce, I decided to try and make a quick, simple recipe that I found on allrecipe.com (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/homemade-tomato-sauce-ii/)

So I began by putting 4 tbsp of evoo and heating it in a large pan over medium heat. Then I added 1 chopped onion, and 4 cloves of crushed garlic and cooked until tender. Then I added 1 (28oz) can of peeled and crushed tomatoes, 1 cup of water (instead of the 2 the recipe called for), 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp pepper, and 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning.

IMG_4035 IMG_4036 IMG_4037

Once incorporated I let it continue to heat through and thicken, stirring occasionally until it was thick.

Review: a simple base recipe for tomato sauce that you can change up to suit your specific tastes.

Leave a Reply

